Chair in Islamic Studies and Research
Welcome to Yenepoya University




Chair for Islamic Studies and Research


In order to enrich the academic resources of the university system for a deeper reflection on critical issues and to promote and facilitate insightful thinking on all issues connected with focus on knowledge generation with an inter-disciplinary perspective, the Yenepoya University  has established  the Chair for Islamic Studies and Research   and was  inaugurated  by  Mr. Y Abdulla Kunhi, Chancellor, Yenepoya University on  4th April, 2017. This chair will facilitate on all issues connected with focus on knowledge generation with an inter-disciplinary perspective specifically on Islam.

The Major objective of establishing this chair is to integrate and facilitate social, cultural, and scientific dimensions of Islamic practices into the teaching and research programmes of University and establish scientific basis for the Islamic practices through research at all levels including cellular, molecular and genetics. This chair will be involved in pursuing advanced studies in the field of Islam, especially Applied Studies in different fields including Health and Social Sciences. Renowned thinker, Islamic scholar and author of more than a dozen books on Islamic studies, Dr. Javed Jamil has been appointed as its Head.


Advisory Body
A Committee consisting of the following members has been constituted for the effective functioning of the Chair for Islamic & Research.

1.    Dr. M. Vijayakumar                                          : Chairman
       Vice Chancellor, YU   
2.    Prof. Mohammed Basheer                              : External Member
       Vice Chancellor, University of Calicut
       Thennipalam, Malapuram Dist., Kerala

3.    Dr. C.P. Habeeb Rahman                               : Member
       Chairman & Medical Director
       Unity Hospital, Mangaluru

4.    Dr. G. Shreekumar Menon                              : Member
       Registrar, YU

5.    Mr. Mahammad Bava P.                                   : Member
       Finance Officer, YU

6.    Dr. Ghulam Jeelani Qadiri                               : Member
       Principal, YMC

7.    Dr. Ataat Khan                                                    : External Member
       Managing Director
       Kameda Infologics Pvt. Ltd.
8.    Dr. Mustaq                                                          : External Member
       Consultant Ophthalmologist
       Shiffa Hospital, Bengaluru
9.    Dr. Arun A. Bhagavath                                      : Member
       Professor  & Dy. Director, YRC

10.    Prof. Abdul Rahiman                                       : Member
         Assistant Registrar, YU
11.    Dr. Javed Jamil                                                 : Convener
         Dy. Director, Head of Chair in Islamic Studies &

Units/Divisions List